EF's Blog

Android Tips : Use Your Old Number for Whatsapp while using Your Current (Different) Number for Others (Call/SMS/Data)

Posted on: August 3, 2012

You want to use old number for whatsapp but now you changing your number? Yes you can πŸ™‚

So, this is the requirement.- 2 mobile phones (1 installed whatsapp app, the other is up to you, as long the other phone able to receive sms and/or call)
– 1 active new number you are going to use for call/sms/data
– 1 active old number that you still wanna use in whatsapp (because maybe a lot of people has knew this number, or because the number are going to be used in another phone, etc)

How to do it ? Let’s assume your old number is +62234567890 and the new number is +62098765432, and lets call the Phone with whatsapp is Phone#1 and other Phone called Phone#2. So, lets do this :
1. Insert the new number (eq +62098765432) to Phone#1, Turn it on, make sure the internet is active.
2. Insert the old number (eq. +62234567890 ) to Phone#2. Turn it on, make sure it can get sms & call
3. Open Whatsapp app, insert old number in textfields.
4. There’s a timer in your whatsapp to check whether it is failed or not, just let it open (dont do anything).
5. Your Phone#2 will get a SMS similar like this : "901 WhatApp internal use – safe to discard" (the number may different)
6. Wait until the timer on Phone#1 is finished, there will be some failed notification/pop-up and maybe it will confirm you to retry the sms (or automatically do sms).mainActivity If you’re being asked to retry sms, just do it.
7. Wait until Phone#2 get a SMS similar like this : "WhatsaApp code 365" (the number may different)
8. Insert 365 (from the last sms on Phone#2) to Phone#1.

You should able to connect to WhatsApp which registered with your old number on Phone#1
But if you did not get any SMS, or failed, you continue to step 9.
9. Wait until there is a button "Call Me"
10. Press Call Me button, then wait Phone#2 get a phone call from WhatsApp
11. Hear the 3 digits code, insert it to textfields.

You’re done now πŸ™‚

Please comment if you find this article helpful or interesting. Thank you πŸ™‚

121 Responses to "Android Tips : Use Your Old Number for Whatsapp while using Your Current (Different) Number for Others (Call/SMS/Data)"

dude ur a genius man! worked like magic

Glad it could help you πŸ™‚

I am going to do it next week. Thanks.

But which number will be charged for data usage.. the old number or the new number

the new number will be charged, not the old number.

Thanks for query

Hey bro, okay so i have an android phone. i have whatsapp enabled in my phone but ill be moving to an another country(say X) in a week so will my whatsapp work in country x while having an another simcard in it?

Thomas, In my experience, Yes, you will still can use it.

thankyou so much. literally helped me alot

your welcome πŸ™‚

Hi, I liked this a lot. Hope u can help me with my problem.I have whatsapp working on phone1 with old number from another country. now I got a new phone in country2 and I want to use same account on phone2 but the old sim has expired and no longer active. I have lots of contacts know my old number and don’t want to use a new number. Is it possible to activate whatsapp on phone2 with the old expired number?

Dear Carmen,

As far as I know, you can not activate whatsapp with expired number. Sorry.

Hi, My old number which i use on whatsapp is deactive right now but i was still using the same old number on whatsapp, having new number inserted in the phone, till today when i updated my phone, and now im having no option logging in on the old number, and im not looking forward to leave my old whatsapp account and going to new number once. help

If you have no active number (the old one), you can’t get the old number to be re log again

hi sir shall we continue Indian wats app account number in other countries

hi sir shall we continue Indian wats app account number in other countries

as long as you can access your indian number anytime needed (by roaming or other method), yes it shall

hi, i had spoilt my phone and my dad gave me his old phone 2 months ago and inserted my own sim card. until today i realised I’ve been using his whatsapp number to send messages to my friends. In this case will his current phone he’s using with his phone number will receive all the messages I’ve sent and received in his old phone?

no he wont. the messages and pic will be just in ur phone only. better u change the whatsapp number with yours. just a suggestion

hmm, its a bit confused here.I always thought that Im using my own account but actually is my dad’s whats app account. So I wanna know will received my messages (using is whatsapp account) in his current phone?

Okay Thanks a million!!! πŸ™‚

Thank you very much, it helped me a lot.

My name is Ronald. Am new here. Am getting a lot of help from this forum.

thanks to visit my blog

bt my oldd no. sim is lost..
thn hw cn i use old no..???

what if my both numbers are registered on wats app do i need to do the same process

I am outside of the country and no roaming with my (old) sim, so i cant get sms not call… Do i still have a way?

I’m sorry, you cannot. you need at least a phone call On Mar 8, 2014 3:39 PM, “Erwin Fransiscus's Blog” wrote:

>

Hello all. I was looking for a bit of help..I was using whatsapp on my old phone until I bought a new one recently and I wanna use the same account with the same number on my new phone..how do I transfer it? Do I have to delete the account and then register again? Please help..thank you.

I have lost the old sim card an I dnt wanna use the new number for what’s app I want the old 1 pls help

you can not. you must have the old number still active and accessible. call your carrier to get your old number back On Apr 23, 2014 4:33 PM, “Erwin Fransiscus's Blog” wrote:

>

Hello.. I need a help here. I was using whatsapp on my old phone until I bought a new one recently and I want to use the same account with the same old number on my new phone which has another sim in it.How could I do it? Any suggestions would be great. Thanks.

you can follow the instruction I write above. It will works perfectly as u want. πŸ™‚ On Jun 23, 2014 10:19 AM, “Erwin Fransiscus's Blog” wrote:

>

Hello Ef, when you mean to say Insert the number, you mean to insert the SIM ? And I want to make whatsapp work on Phone#2 not on Phone#1 as you said above. 8. Insert 365 (from the last sms on Phone#2) to Phone#1.

You should able to connect to WhatsApp which registered with your old number on Phone#1

I have a Phone#2 with new number. My phone#1 has whatsapp registered on old number. So, Will your method make whatsapp work on Phone#2 with the old number?

Thanks.

no not the Sim but the number only. and yes, this method will make you able to do use old WhatsApp account with the new phone and the new number, what I mean was: let’s assume the old phone with your old primary WhatsApp number as Phone A. the new other number and the other new phone you want to use with the old WhatsApp account as Phone B.

First thing to do: – open WhatsApp app in phone B. – when on the screen asks you to insert your number, insert the phone number of Phone A. – wait 5 minutes until sms authentication failed. (you’ll get an sms on the Phone A, just ignore it.) – press the button to make WhatsApp call you (I forget the button’s tittle.) – WhatsApp will call you to the number on Phone A. – insert the code on Phone B. voila, it should be just work πŸ™‚ On Jun 23, 2014 1:43 PM, “Erwin Fransiscus's Blog” wrote:

>

great man.. its working in my mobile#2

glad can help On Jun 25, 2014 3:24 AM, “Erwin Fransiscus's Blog” wrote:

>

What about using one number for whatsapp and other for sms/call in a dual sim phone ?

yes, no problem on that. it could work the same way On Sep 12, 2014 12:54 PM, “Erwin Fransiscus's Blog” wrote:

>

Hi I want to change my number, but don’t want to give it out to some people on my contacts/what’s app , how do I do it please? Don’t want to talk to them anymore

just change your number. as long you don’t chat with them, your number will not visible to them On Oct 10, 2014 6:54 PM, “Erwin Fransiscus's Blog” wrote:

>

What if I can’t access my old number but still want to use my old number on new mobile ? Is there any way I can do that?

no, i have to have access with your old number. On Dec 30, 2014 10:29 PM, “Erwin Fransiscus's Blog” wrote:

>

Hey, I am trying to keep my old whatsapp number in my new phone. But the problem is that my old number is from a different country and I cannot activate that Sim here. Any suggestions ?

Thank you!

Hi,
I changed my number but I am using my old number for watsapp. Then my old number deactivated and recently I found that my old number has been given to another person by the service provider. Can the other person use the same number for watsapp as mine? Will he receive d msgs that I send and receive? Please reply… Urgent.

yes, he/she can. but I think the other person have not register the number to whatsapp yet. because your whatsapp still active by now, right?

there’s a new feature in whatsapp for changing number. I myself haven’t tried that feature yet, but it might a help for u if it’s working.

how to: menu> setting > account > change number > enter old number > enter new number > verify the new number. . again, I have not tried it myself. please come to this post again and share whether it success or not.. hope to hear from u soon On Jan 19, 2015 8:41 PM, “Erwin Fransiscus's Blog” wrote:

>

but what about my friends , i have to notify everyone about the no. change or it will be done automatically

yes, u have to notify them manually

Hi Ef.
According to the precedure you describe in comment number 33. Should I uninstall Whatsapp on my Phone A? (It’s a BlackBerry)
Thanks!

which one is the comment no 33?could u copy-paste the the section u mean? On Jan 20, 2015 8:27 PM, “Erwin Fransiscus's Blog” wrote:

>

Sorry! This is the comment: “First thing to do: – open WhatsApp app in phone B. – when on the screen asks you to insert your number, insert the phone number of Phone A. – wait 5 minutes until sms authentication failed. (you’ll get an sms on the Phone A, just ignore it.) – press the button to make WhatsApp call you (I forget the button’s tittle.) – WhatsApp will call you to the number on Phone A. – insert the code on Phone B. voila, it should be just work “

if you have whatsapp in Blackberry and the number u want to use in whatsapp also inside the blackberry, you can open whatsapp in the other phone (let say it’s an android phone), insert the number in Blackberry, let it fail in Sms verification, call me, and verify. and after the whatsapp in android successfully registered, you can uninstall whatsapp in the blackberry. hope it helps On Jan 20, 2015 8:43 PM, “Erwin Fransiscus's Blog” wrote:

>

let me revised :

if you have whatsapp in Blackberry and the number u want to use in whatsapp also inside the blackberry, you can open whatsapp in the other phone (let say it’s an android phone), insert the blackberry phone number in whatsapp on android, let it fail in Sms verification, call me, and verify. and after the whatsapp in android successfully registered, you can uninstall whatsapp in the blackberry. hope it helps

Thanks again Ef! I read somewhere that you can not have the same active number on 2 different devices at the same time, so I wanted to check πŸ™‚

yes, two number cannot be activated in two devices. so if you activate the number to whatsapp on android… the whatsapp in Blackberry automatically will be blocked.

glad can help On Jan 20, 2015 9:15 PM, “Erwin Fransiscus's Blog” wrote:

>

if i have lost my old sim card but whatsapp on my old phone is still working .now is there any chance of using whatsapp on old number but on new phone(with new number)

I m using a dual sim android phone. My whatsapp account is with 1st sim. Now I wanna use 3g data thru 2nd sim. I want to access whatsapp with my 1st (old) number thru 2nd sim net connection. Is it possible, if so how, can u help me in this regard.

what type of phone are u using? and also, does the phone is capable to use network data from the second SIM?

does the phone also support Sms and calling for second SIM?

there might be two suggestions from me depends on what u need.

1. just use your whatsapp with your old number as usual, just turn on the network data of the 2nd SIM.

2. just use your whatsapp with your old number as usual, turn off your phone, switch the simcard from slot 1 to slot 2 (switch the first card slot with the new simcard and put the old simcard to second slot).

these should works just fine. depends what do u want the old number use for (Sms, call, data or just idle).

please respond whether these suggestions working for you or not.

thanks On Feb 1, 2015 2:37 PM, “EF's Blog” wrote:

>

I lost my old no .but I want to use that no in whatsapp . I want suggesion . Without code can I used

well, you cannot, you need active and accessible number On Feb 12, 2015 7:07 PM, “EF's Blog” wrote:

>

sir i tried your procedure but failed.
i left mobile with sim in india,now i am in other country with new molile and sim and i want to use my india whats app number means old whats app number which is active in india so, pls help me to access my old whats app number with new mobile hand set.

can you access your old India number from your position? if u can, then it should work, On Feb 18, 2015 6:41 PM, “EF's Blog” wrote:

>

sir,

india number is active but not yet receive any call or sms from whats app.

and i am trying since todays

Hey need u help I got a promblm I had whatapp on my old number I haven’t be using that for past year now today my wife text me saying that u still use that but am not nd she dnt bev me cause some how my profile pic has be change

well, your number probably had been re-issued by your network carried because it you had not using it for long time, and basically it becomes a new number that can be used by another person who bought that number. it’s not whatsapp problem, it’s just the number have been used by another person by now. just delete your old number from your contact and your wife contacts, and tell your relative to also remove your old number from their phone On Apr 18, 2015 9:19 AM, “EF's Blog” wrote:

>

Wait… Where am I going to insert the new and the old number? What part of the phone?

please do re-read the post carefully ☺ On May 3, 2015 2:47 PM, “EF's Blog” wrote:

>

I have registered my whatsapp account with an old number (carrier #1) and want to cancel the contract. And I have switched to a new carrier #2 and get a new number.

Could I continue to use my old number in my existing phone (that I have been using for Whatsapp)? Would cancel my carrier #1 contract (thus my old number) remove the old number associated with my whatsapp account?

By the way I plan to have a new phone for my new number for SMS/Data/Call.

Thanks.

you still can use old number (carrier #1 old number) until either : 1. someone uses up your old number as his/her whatsapp number at later time (your carrier will resell inactive number at some point of time) 2. you have to install whatsapp again (change to a new phone, or you reset your phone or somehow the whatsapp error) On May 16, 2015 9:34 AM, “EF's Blog” wrote:

>

Sir,
I m using whatsapp for about a year. But the service number which i m using whatsapp is not in my phone currently. It is being used by other guy.
So i wud like to know that if any one can install whatsapp using that number in any other mobile as long as i m using whatsapp in same number.

Thanks,
Faithfully
customer

sorry for the, very, late reply..
as long you have the number (active simcard), you can re-register the number to be yours πŸ™‚

I’m planning to get a dual SIM android. I want my whatsapp to remain on the old number but planning to get a new SIM for the data plan and just keep the old sim for calls only.

Will it be able to work this way? Or will my whatsapp switch over to the new SIM?

yes it can work that way. just register whatsapp with the SIM you wanted first, and after whatsapp successfully running, turn off the phone, switch the simcard 1 and simcard 2. voila, it works. On Jul 9, 2015 8:11 PM, “EF's Blog” wrote:

>

Thanks for the reply. I’m not planning to switch between Sim cards. Just going to stick in both Sims into the phone.

I want my whatsapp account to remain on my old sim but data turned off and using data from the second sim. Is that possible?

yes possible On Jul 9, 2015 11:19 PM, “EF's Blog” wrote:

>

i can’t fill 6 digit code before 5 minutes. then what i do?

yes you should wait until after 5 mins and get a phone call/Sms to your previous number On Jul 19, 2015 5:28 PM, “EF's Blog” wrote:

>

HEY I GOT A PROBLEM TILL LAST WEEK I WAS ABLE TO SEND WHATSAPP TEXT/IMAGES TO MY CONTACTS USING MY NEW NUMBER. ALL OF A SUDDEN, I AM NOW ONLY SEE TEXT AND DOWNLOAD IMAGES VIDEOS SEND TO ME. ANY IDEA WHY I AM UNABLE TO SEND MASSAGES TO ANY ONE USING MY NEW NUMBER.

maybe you should provide screenshot so we can help you. On Jul 22, 2015 9:00 AM, “EF's Blog” wrote:

>

I wanted to know whether i can use whatsapp abroad having my indian number registered on it?

Dear…now a days i used my old number in whatsapp but this old sim got inactive….n i purchased a new mobile…now i want to registered that old number to my new phone

i’m afraid you can not do that, you need active simcard to do this trick

Bro I know one of my frnd whatsapp num. …but his mobile is dual sim…few days back he changed num..can I found his new num

if he change his number but did not change his whatsapp account number, you can whatsapp him with the number you already have

Hi there, i had a whatsapp question, but a little different from this topic. I am moving countries and am getting a new phone. i have whatsapp on my old phone, but i plan to deactivate the sim on that phone. I am going to keep the number under my name, but it will basically be a “tablet”, it will not be able to send or receive calls/ messages/data. It can use wifi however. I dont want to move whats app to my new phone or anything. Do you think whatsapp will continue to work on my old phone?

Would you or anyone else here know? Thanks a lot!

yes, basically it can works that way as long you dont get these circumstances : 1. you accidentally need to reinstall whatsapp 2. you want to change/move the whatsapp to another phone 3. whatsapp somehow need to re-authenticate the phone number 4. your phone is broken/gone/cant be used properly anymore 5. whatsapp app keeps force-closing or any related system/app error

so, as long you dont get those, i think it would be just fine

Thank you πŸ™‚

I have recently moved back to Canada from Europe. My Euro phone is now unable to send or receive SMS messages but I am hoping to transfer my Whatsapp chat history from my EU phone to my new Canadian phone (with a different number and sim). Is there any way to do this?

does your Europe whatsapp still active? On Sep 2, 2015 11:43 PM, “EF's Blog” wrote:

>

I’ve restored my Euro whataspp. I deleted whatsapp off my new Canadian phone in hopes that I would be able to transfer my chats to my new Canadian phone with the new number.

if you can connect to your euro whatsapp, you may use the whatsapp option in setting to change your number. that way, you may still have your chat logs

I have tried to put a copy of the backup on my desktop and putting it onto my new phone to restore the new version of whatsapp with it and that didn’t work. If i change the number on my Euro phone will I delete whatsapp off that phone and then download it on my new phone?

no, you cant do that, because you have different number so if you re-register Canadian number whatsapp won’t auto restore your chat logs. my idea is : 1. somehow you can use/activate Europe number on whatsapp again. 2. select setting – account – change number 3. insert Canadian number 4. put Canadian number on current phone On Sep 3, 2015 1:13 PM, “EF's Blog” wrote:

>

I have lost my old number , but still I want to use my old number . Is it possible?

while you still registered to WhatsApp and the app still connected with your old number, that’s possible, until your WhatsApp disconnected or you have to chance phone or reinstall whatsapp, then it not longer possible anymore to use your old number On Sep 19, 2015 10:33 PM, “EF's Blog” wrote:

>

I did it yesterday and it worked am now whatspng with my old number to my new phone with new sim

great! Sent from my BlackBerry 10 smartphone on the Telkomsel network. From: EF's BlogSent: Senin, 5 Oktober 2015 12.16To: efransiscus@gmail.comReply To: comment+pa1_p-3fytqaw6cxc_8mbi2@comment.wordpress.comSubject: [EF’s Blog] Comment: “Android Tips : Use Your Old Number for Whatsapp while using Your Current (Different) Number for Others (Call/SMS/Data)”

a:hover { color: red; } a { text-decoration: none; color: #0088cc; } a.primaryactionlink:link, a.primaryactionlink:visited { background-color: #2585B2; color: #fff; } a.primaryactionlink:hover, a.primaryactionlink:active { background-color: #11729E !important; color: #fff !important; }

/* @media only screen and (max-device-width: 480px) { .post { min-width: 700px !important; } } */ WordPress.com

Hi
I am out side india and was using my indian number as my whatsapp till yesterday my indian number is workin by mistake i have deleted my whatsapp here and now after to many try i havent received CODE via call or sms from whatsapp pleawe help me either i need to activate roaming in my indian number to get code please help me

My elder came frim foreign….he want to use the same number. Which was his previous………fforeign sim…….can we continue with the same number?

hello guys. I’d like to create virtual numbers. I’ve lost a phone so i wanto use my old numbers to get whatsapp verification code. Thanks

as long you able to read sms/text to your old number, you may

plz help me,
i want to make watsapp accont with my old number ,which is lost…help plz

no you cannot do that

Its not working. .m tried it..plzz..give me the solution. .I want to use my old no. On wats app..

it does still working. try it again. I just used it few days ago on my new phone

Hi there,am using my indian whatsap number in abroad. Accidently i uninstalled my whatsap account and i cant use my old number account in this country.Again installing they are asking my number and i just gave my old number and its not working. how can i active my old whats ap account???? plz help

basically, you cannot. you need access to your old number so you can use it again. maybe roaming?

I am having a new phone number but I want to use whatsapp on my old number but also need data usage from new number.Will it be possible? Moreover, I want the same whatsapp account with same conversation, profile, contacts etc.

sorry for late reply, didnt get the wordpress notification.

yes, you may use the existing old number with same conversation, profile, contacts, etc with whatsapp number the old number as long the old number are accessible.

have you figure this out, anyway?

I lost my old sim card (old number). And I reset my phone. So when I install WhatsApp and log in I couldn’t get my old account. O couldn’t get the verification SMS or call since I lost the sim card.. Is there any that I can get my old account back?

You seem very knowledgeable and I can’t seen to find this answer so I wondered if you could advise.

I have got to know a couple of people who use WhatsApp and they want me to connect with them However, I am not keen, at the moment, for them to know my personal phone number.

I have therefore registered my WhatsApp number to a PAYGO phone but I want to use my personal phone to use WhatsApp. If I give these people my PAYGO number – when I send a message from my personal phone – which number will appear with any messages? The PAYGO number or the personal number?

I’m confused because today I sent a message to someone who had my personal number, not the PAYGO number – and they called me on my personal number – is this because they had my personal number? If they had my PAYGO only would they have been able to call on the Personal number if I had never given it to them?

Thanks

If I give these people my PAYGO number – when I send a message from my personal phone – which number will appear with any messages? The PAYGO number or the personal number?

## if you register whatsapp in your personal phone using PAYGO number, the person you whatsapp will receive the PAYGO number.

I’m confused because today I sent a message to someone who had my personal number, not the PAYGO number – and they called me on my personal number – is this because they had my personal number?

## seems so (because they have your personal number)

If they had my PAYGO only would they have been able to call on the Personal number if I had never given it to them?

## they won’t. they only have your PAYGO.

## if you whatsapp your friend who doesn’t have both your PAYGO or personal number with your PAYGO whatsapp, the number appear would be PAYGO.

hope it helps. cheers.

also, please remember, no matter which phone you are using, do register whatsapp with the PAYGO number if you want to use the whatsapp from the PAYGO number. if you register the whatsapp with your personal number in your PAYGO phone, it will still send your personal number.

Jagdish Prasad sevda

Jagdish Prasad

How can it be done wen phone 1 which had the old whatsapp is inactive.

I want to use the same whatsapp on my new no at start then change it to new no. As it has some imp data and contacts.

the number 1 need to be active. you should have 2 number active. if you cannot access your old number, of course you cant do this thing

On Mon, Feb 19, 2018 at 3:48 PM, EF's Blog wrote:

>

Leave a comment

EF’s Blog

I'm just ordinary people who lived in an extra-ordinary world.

EF's Blog Stats

  • 153,673 hits
August 2012
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives